Vai direttamente ai contenuti della pagina

The Commission

The Commission for Intercountry Adoption is a newly created institution with its headquarters at the Prime Minister’s Office – Department of Family policies. Its task is to guarantee that adoptions of foreign children come about in respect of the principles laid down by the Hague Convention of 29 May 1993 on the protection of juveniles and cooperation in relation to intercountry adoption. To protect children, their families of origin and future adoptive families it carries out the main tasks as Italy’s Central Authority for the application of The Hague Convention.

The Commission has many, and important, functions:

it collaborates with the central authorities of other States, also by gathering information needed for purposes of implementing the international conventions relating to adoption;
it proposes to the Government the conclusion of bilateral agreements relating to adoption;
it authorizes the agencies to carry out their activities in Italy and abroad in the area of international adoption, ascertaining that they possess the necessary legal requirements;
it sees to keeping and publishing the register of accredited bodies;
it monitors the work of the accredited bodies and subjects them to controls and checks that may also lead to withdrawal of authorization in the event of severe shortcomings;
it organizes periodical meetings with representatives of the accredited bodies, and ensures that they are homogeneously distributed over the national territory;
it assesses in individual cases the conclusions on the combination of adoptive couple and child that the authorized agency has consented to and declares that the adoption responds to the best interest of the child;
it authorizes entry into Italy of children adopted or fostered with a view to adoption;
it promotes cooperation between those operating in the adoption sector and in the protection of juveniles sector;
every two years it sends a report to the Prime Minister, who in turn passes it to Parliament, on the course of intercountry adoptions, the state of implementation of the Hague Convention and the conclusion of any bilateral agreements with non-member countries;
it collects anonymously, for statistical and research requirements, data on juveniles adopted or fostered with a view to adoption, and any other information useful for a knowledge of the phenomenon of intercountry adoptions;
it conserves the documents and information relating to the procedure, including those on the origin and medical history of the child and the identity of its natural parents.
Currently the Commission is made up as follows:

President: Prime Minister

Vice-President: Dr. Silvia DELLA MONICA;

3 representatives of the Prime Minister’s Office (cons. Caterina CITTADINO, cons. Sergio MASINI, cons. Monica PARRELLA);
1 representative of representative of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (min. plen. Dr. Marco DEL PANTA RIDOLFI);
1 representative of the Ministry of public Education (Dr. Giovanna BODA);
1 representative of the Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs (Dr. Adriana CIAMPA);
1 representative of the Ministry of the Interiors (v.p. Dr. Maurizio FALCO);
2 representatives of the Ministry of Justice (Dr. Filomena ALBANO; Pres. Dr. Caterina CHINNICI);
1 representative of the Ministry of Health (Dr. Sara TERENZI).
1 representative of the Ministry of the Economy and Finance (Dr. Giulio PUCCIO);
4 representatives of the unified State-Regions Conference (Dr. Annunziatina FIORENZO, Dr. Virginia COSTA, Dr. Clara FANELLI and Dr. Ciro AMADORO);
3 representatives of the national family associations (Dr. Simone PILLON, Dr. Monya FERRITTI, Dr. Francesco Maria MENNILLO); 
2 experts (Dr. Maria CAPRARA, Dr. Donatella PIAZZA)

Commission for Intercountry Adoption
Via di Villa Ruffo, 6
00196 ROME
Tel: +39 06 67792060
Fax: +39 06 67792165

© Copyright 2010 Commission Intercountry Adoption - All rights reserved